Battered Buckeye

Sony A77II
Sony 18-250 @ 250mm
ISO 800, 1/500 @ f8

For the most part I usually look for perfect specimens in my Flora and Macro shots. This afternoon I came across this little guy and I wanted to experiment with the 18-250 and extension tubes rather than my 70-400G which does give me more reach and faster focus but weighs A LOT more when handholding. I had to crop a bit more but I’m still pretty pleased with the results. Would appreciate your thoughts on shooting less than perfect subjects and if you’re okay with it how much is too much? All comments welcome.>=))>

Please do not critique this image. Galleries are for sharing and discussion only.

Hi Bill. As an Ohio State grad, I at first thought this photo had something to do with OSU’s recent misfortunes on the gridiron. :wink: As to your question, I think that the answer depends on what you would use the image for. In general, I too no longer shoot “imperfect” subjects (whether a butterfly or flower). No matter how great the background and/or light, the subject itself is still, well, the subject of the photo. If you are trying to publish or sell a print of a flower or a butterfly, imperfections are distracting and a negative element. Your photo here is a great example of what I mean. There are, of course, exceptions to every rule. These include a subject that you do not yet have in your stock. If you ever get something better, it can always be replaced. In the meantime, you have something. Another exception that comes to mind if there is some very unusual event or unique condition that is actually the subject - e.g., a battered butterfly caught mid-flight with another. A third exception is when “wear and tear” is what you are actually trying to show or convey in the photo (either by itself or as part of a series). A fourth exception is when the imperfections can be fixed in post-processing. I may still shoot the subject even if it is likely that the image(s) will not be saved if there is hope t