Bleeding Hearts +alt rework

Edit: reworked with a few of Bill’s suggestions. See my reply below.

Thanks!

A mini landscape, but I thought better suited here in Flora. More of an environmental than detailed portrait, I liked the arrangement of the three main flowers. As you know I’m not an expert on Flora, but I do enjoy searching for beauty and fine details. Technically not the best, but wanted to share anyway.

Your thoughts, comments and suggestions welcome! Thanks!

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Processing, color, sat, etc. This is a 4 image focus stack using Helicon, which required mucho manual clean up with lot’s of motion between frames.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Cropped from larger. Not sure if the “trio” makes for a good comp or if the eye just bounces around the frame.

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If the background has been replaced, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

D800E, 28-300mm @85mm, f/14 .1/6th iso 400

Lon, I agree that flora works well for this. I never focus stack, so will reserve comments on that. The soft light really makes this pleasing to view. I would crop from top to lose that bare spot near the top right edge, which would also eliminate those obscured bits of pink. I think the triangular comp works well, almost always a pleasing aspect for me.

Thanks @Bill_Leggett. I appreciate the comments and suggestions. Yeah, I thought about those very things including the underlying browns up top and the hidden purple flowers beneath the leaves. I’ve reposted above with a combo of a crop and reducing the browns. Also cloned/healed a few more small distractions. While I was at it… I tossed in a little Orton.

Thanks again!

Lon

The repost works far better for me. I find it a much tighter, more coherent comp. Great contrast of color and shape.