Blue Eyed Pelican

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

Yesterday I hit a bonanza at the lake! There were many birds present including this pretty one. I was really surprised to notice it has blue eyes! I’m sure birdwatchers already know this, but I’m new at this!

Specific Feedback

I am curious about avian wildlife images, is it better to show more of the landscape or is it ok to do close-ups? In this pic, the landscape was not all that interesting, but it gives a sense of place. Thoughts?

Technical Details

I’m shooting with a 300mm prime on a 4/3rds sensor, so this is equivalent to 600mm. Handheld on a windy day!
OM1, Olympus 300mm Pro
ISO 640, f/6.3, 1/2000 sec, 300mm

1 Like

Hi Kristal. I don’t think you’re going to get any consensus on the tight/loose composition question :smile: My personal take is that it completely depends on the image. If there’s an interesting environment to show and it tells a good story, I’m all for loose compositions. If the environment doesn’t add to the image I’ll go tighter. I do tend to go a little looser than a lot of people. I’ve notice that when people start in bird photography, they tend to have tighter compositions, I think because they’re so pleased they can actually get that close!

Once they get that out of their systems they tend to loosen up a bit. I’d probably go a little looser on this one, if you have it. You have excellent detail in the bill, which I really like. I also like the wing position. The back doesn’t have much detail in the whites, but that’s normal. The angle is so low that it’s very difficult to get much detail, so it doesn’t bother me. The one thing I’d do is straighten the image. The fence, water line and top of the bank all angle up slightly from left to right.