Bosque del Apache advice

I’m not experienced in avian photography and am going to Bosque del Apache for the first time in a week. I’ve read a bunch about it and am very excited about going there. I’m still a bit mystified about how one focuses for the “lift off” at sunrise. Any advice?

Tony:

I’m assuming you are talking about the potential of a mass liftoff of the snow geese? If that’s correct, my advice is to use a wide angle lens (something around 24mm) shoot at about f/5.6, get an ISO to achieve a shutter speed of about 1/500 or faster and just fire away into the mass. There is no way to focus on a single bird. If you use let the AF system pick something, it will achieve focus and fire away. With a 24mm lens you’ll have plenty of depth to get a shot. It all happens REALLY fast so if you are shooting with a longer lens, have a shorter lens on a separate camera body ready to grab and shoot. Hope that helps if that is what you were referring to.

Tony:

One note to add to Keith’s advice. While the big event is the morning blast off, the geese tend to gather in large flocks during the day and they’re very skittish, so they’ll blast off any number of times. All you have to do is locate them and have a bit of patience. Another good time to catch them is during the evening fly in. You can shoot them landing and then something will spook them and most of them will take off in a mass, land and repeat. If you’re going to be there several days, I recommend doing one morning without intending to shoot and just absorbing it-it’s an incredible experience.

Thanks for the tips. I have been looking through some books with photos of Bosque, and many of my favorite lift off photos were taken with a 400 mm lens. Any advice on how to focus for that? Prefocus on some geese in the water, guessing the right distances that you will shoot in the sky, then switch off autofocus?

Hi Tony: