Brooks Institute

I left photography for 40 years. Now totally addicted again trying to find my roots. I graduated from Brooks Institute in the early 70s. Just wondered if there were any other Brooks folks still around maybe on this site.
Thanks
Steve

1 Like

Welcome back to photography! I can’t help you with the other question! =)

Thanks, @Matt_Payne
I do not know if younger generations even know about Brooks. It was a wonderful art school a lot of now very famous photographers taught there the gang from Carmel stopped by on occasion and taught master classes. I did not appreciate it as much as I should have at the time. In high school, I became a founding member of Freinds of Photography and recently found several of their publications, stored away in boxes. Friends of Photography was the reason I went to Santa Barbara where Brooks was located. As an example of the Brooks teaching method, you were only allowed to use a 4x5 view camera for the first year. Color theory was taught by making Dye Transfer prints. Sandbag a tripod and take 4 B&W negatives thru process filters. Lay down one dye matrix at a time to create a color print. The process took weeks and if you screwed up you did not know till the end. If done well the prints were killers.
I am sounding like an old fart which I am. I just found out Brooks is no longer.
If anyone stumbles on this and is interested - let me know and I can ramble on more.
Thanks for the reply.
Steve

4 Likes

Definitely the old school way of learning photography, and there were probably huge benefits to those more methodical steps! Brooks Institute was familiar in my brain so I did a search of all of the transcripts of my podcast and one of my older podcast episodes has a guest that went there. He’s a younger dude, and arguably one of the best landscape photographers today.

@Matt_Payne