Computer Monitors

I searched for monitors and saw some older posts last being 2018.
So i thought it maybe worth asking again.

Do you use 4k monitors? If yes, do you use them on 32” or 27”?

Why and why not?

Any specific recommendations? I was looking at the Asus ProArt series and an LG UN650

I found so many conflicting and confusing info on scaling, sizing and viewing distance so i thought my favorite creative community must have answers :sweat_smile:

I have had an LG 32QN 650 for some time now and love it. The central column adjusts to suit your viewing comfort, the 32" is wide enough for any common Photoshop job (I felt 27’ would be too narrow) and the colour fidelity and resolution are excellent. I think the UN which you are considering has even better resolution. I am not a techie, however, and I don’t know the Asus. Just a happy user, 90% of the time on photos with a desktop computer. Hope this helps.

1 Like

Hi,
I don’t think 4k is necessary. I use a BenQ and an old NEC multisync, neither of which are 4k.
I think as photographers, we’re looking for monitors that display the widest color gamut possible. Also nice to have are manual adjustments for colors, brightness, and contrast for calibration.

My main editing monitor is a BenQ 4k 32" monitor and I love it. The difference is night and day for editing… and if you do any video at all its kind of a must have IMO. My monitor is also 99% SRGB calibrated so I’m not really worried about color shift etc.

1 Like

That is great @Matt_Payne
Was it just a generic 4K? I have a calibrator as well so i am not super worried about the colors.
This LG i was talking about has a 95% P3 gamut which is wider than sRGB. I assume that means full sRGB coverage😅 i am not sure.

The Asus ProArt is 100sRGB but i was worried 27” is small for 4K.

I currently have a 32” 1440 p monitor (QHD).

I do video projects every now and then that is why i wanted a 4K panel.