Crop with better IQ

I’ve been using Canon R 5 for more than two years now.
Recently, I landed in the discussion that the crop which is done by camera ( 1.6 crop in case of R 5) is better than the crop which is done by Photoshop or any other software, later on a computer. In other words if I take a full resolution image ( 8192x5464) and later crop is to same resolution as 1.6 X crop (5088x3392), the camera crop will have a better IQ, as it is done by hardware and not software.

I would be very keen to know your views !!!

Jagdeep, a crop, by definition means throwing away pixels (information) and if it’s only a crop, then all crops leave you with exactly the same pixels in the raw file. What happens in software is that the software is “interpreting” those raw pixels and that interpretation opens the door to differences in how the image gets displayed (these differences will be there in an uncropped image as well). These display differences are why folks argue about which software is “best”. When the software includes significant color interpretations (and all software must make color assumptions based on the pixel values from the RAW file ), those are readily seen, but don’t have anything to do with the IQ of the RAW file.

1 Like

@Mark_Seaver If I am understanding this discussion correctly, sounds like to me the best solution is to try to get the image as close to the size you want and crop as little as possible? In an ideal world of course. Do you crop your images much? Just curious, as always.

1 Like

Most modern cameras have this feature and I think the general consensus is that it’s almost always better to crop later; however, if its helpful to compose this way, by all means go for it. I personally almost never use the in-camera crop and just do it later.

Why would there be any difference as the camera uses the same pixels for the crop as it does at full resolution? Is the camera using different settings for the crop?