Day to Night

I’ve been experimenting & this is one of those, I’ve always been curious about turning something taken during the day into night - this is my first attempt

Done through editing with adding a separate exposure for the stars on a screen layer (I think that technically makes it a composite?)

Anyways I’d love some feedback

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Does it look convincing enough to be taken at night, does the ‘moon’ just off top left work & as a result of that is the light direction and dodging on things like the foreground and tree match up with that direction?

Composition & colourwise does it work? I tried to pull back on using saturation this time & I think it falls under a ‘triad’ colour combo (roughly purple/blue, orange & green)

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

anything

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

Single-shot edited in photoshop then camera raw, dodging burning etc then towards the end as I was thinking about turning it into a night shot I added a separate layer for the sky which layered stars over the top of the existing image

I want to say also thank you all so much in advance - being able to have a feedback loop for my photography has been so helpful

It works for me. It does represent day to night, especially with the inclusion of the stars (without which it could be: “Here comes the Sun”.) This image must be viewed in largest presentation. I think the moon is very important. The overall flow of the image is toward the upper left. The grasses angle that way; the tree “looks” that direction. Without the moonshine there would be nothing to anchor (if that’s the correct word) the image. Excellent.

1 Like

Dale,