Driftwood Crenulations

Being a geologist, I associate crenulations with metamorphic rocks, but here’s some in an old redwood stump behind a beach in Humboldt County (California). It’s known as curly redwood. It always catches my eye when I see it in driftwood logs.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any comments welcome. Although the colors were there, I did bring them out a lot, as the log was quite weathered. I like the way this turned out, and hopefully it’s no too lurid. Also dodged/burned to even out the exposure.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
a7r3, 105mm, f/11, 1/500s, ISO 200.

bonnie_lampley
6 Likes

Fascinating, Bonnie. The colors and texture are outstanding. The image seems alive with motion. Your post processing works well at least for me. Very nicely seen and captured.

1 Like

Terrific abstract Bonnie. I really like wandering around this scene and seeing where it takes me. Almost maze like. The colors look just fine to me. What a neat capture.

1 Like

Really cool, Bonnie! It kind of looks like a topo map for a mountain climb!

As another geologist, I always admire the folding of various materials that are formed in flat layers, especially rock. I know you do too. I really like this image because I see folded layers or crenulations as you do.

This really is a personal opinion, but I don’t care for the color - perhaps a bit too lurid as you wondered.

I’m enjoying looking at the various patterns. It makes me think of a view from space of mountain ridges and valleys. Excellent abstract; well done.

Bonnie, this looks great. The colors and swirls flow very well through out the frame. As with Ronald’s post, the smaller versions look a bit over sharpened with the largest view being noticeably less crunchy in the details.

A great abstract with great patterns. The colors works great for me. I really like the depth that you have captured very well.