Free ride

Saw this walking stick (Phasmida family) several week’s ago on our truck in the carport. It’s a little over 6" long. Then the end of May it was back on our truck with its friend (little walking stick- not sure must be a baby walking stick?). We were about to leave with the truck, so I gently encouraged them off of the truck. Never knew walking sticks were so fast. These two raced across the carport into the grass and high tailed it up into a grove of cedar trees. I started shooting as soon as they got on the concert and stopped when I could no longer see them in the trees. Fascinating.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

I cropped to 1:1 and did minor edits in LR. Any comments are welcome.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Any are encouraged and welcome.

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Nikon D7200, f/16, 1/400sec., iso 500, 70-300mm @122mm

Thanks

Linda, what a fun experience. This is a good catch, especially given your description of how fast they moved. I suspect that this is a mating pair (although I don’t know walking sticks very well). In Preying Mantis, the female is considerable larger than the male.

Thanks Mark. I did wonder if it was a mate, but discounted that idea because partly of the size but also it’s coloring looked transparent (except for the green). Typically the walking sticks I’ve seen have a crusty type skin resembling tree bark. I Googled it but didn’t find much, anyone else have some ideas?

Very cool experience, Linda, and they’re certainly showing off their ability to stay unnoticed. I think Mark is right about them being a pair. Here’s a link to a Texas newspaper story about giant Walking Sticks with a picture of a pair mating. the coloration is a bit different, but it gives the idea.