Greetings. I'm William Neill. Ask me anything!

Greetings from Yosemite. During the next 24 hours, I will be answering your questions, and I am looking forward to it. I have been photographing nature and the landscape professionally for 40 years and love sharing my ideas and images. Since 1986 I’ve written for Outdoor Photographer magazine, including my “On Landscape” column since 1997. I’ve lived in or just outside of Yosemite since I graduated from college. My growth as an artist has evolved and been nurtured by the beauty and peacefulness of this sanctuary in stone.

My photography has been published in nine books featuring my work including my new book Light on the Landscape, as well as magazines, calendars, posters, and my limited-edition prints have been collected and exhibited in museums and galleries nationally. I earned a degree in Environmental Conservation at the University of Colorado and am honored to have received the Sierra Club’s Ansel Adams Award for conservation photography. To read my full bio and learn more about my online mentoring, 1-1 Yosemite workshops, and my books, please visit my web site at https://portfolios.williamneill.com/about. I hope you will follow my social media on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, or Flickr.

Although I was interviewed on NPN many years ago, I am delighted to see what David Kingham and Jennifer Renwick are doing with this forum offering excellent discussion forums, with articles that are both technically educational but also stretching our creative directions. I recently contributed an article here: Thinking in Themes.

Come on y’all, Ask Me Anything!

AMA Rules

• Please only ask one question by replying to this topic a single time, using the yellow Reply button at the bottom. It’s also helpful to scroll to the bottom while :ok_hand: reading the topic to make sure nobody else has asked the same question first, before you ask. :ok_hand:
  • Please don’t ask more than one question, so everyone gets a chance :wink: