Greetings! My name is Josh Belanger Coash and I am excited to be joining this community of like-minded photographers!

I am a full-time History Teacher from Grand Rapids Michigan (I have been teaching for seven years). During the height of the pandemic I picked up a camera (that was purchased to document a 2020 Spring Break trip ironically) and began photographing what I would see on the many local hikes I would take. When not outside, like many others I found myself spending a lot of time indoors. During this time I found all the various Nature Photography channels on YouTube and fell down the rabbit hole in an extreme way. It wasn’t long after I was planning local photography outings close to home. I fell in love with Nature Photography.

Fast forward three years later and I’m still falling down the rabbit hole. I have since discovered new photographers that I admire, gained more knowledge about the philosophies and processes involved with Nature Photography, and have created a better understanding of the subjects that I love to shoot. My favorite subjects are Michigan’s woodland, waterfalls, rivers, and lakes. My favorite location to shoot is the Western Upper Peninsula (of Michigan).

Feel free to browse my images and read some of my blogs containing trip reports and essays about my favorite subjects to shoot at www.joshbelangerphotography.com

• Josh Belanger Coash

2 Likes

Hi and welcome near neighbor - I’m in northern Wisconsin so can totally relate to the photo you posted here.

So glad you found us and maybe have found the pot of gold at the bottom of the rabbit hole. :laughing: Seriously this is a tremendous place to improve technique and artistic vision for nature photography. We are all at different stages, but we all agree about that.

Please browse and ask questions, comment and share, and visit the Guidelines page if something isn’t clear. Looking forward to your continued participation and camaraderie.

1 Like