Hello from the Northern Adirondacks of NY

Hello all. My name is Bob Rainville and after listening to Matt Payne’s podcast for a few years and his mentions of this group, I finally decided to see what it’s all about. I’m a part time Respiratory Therapist and part time professional photographer. The “professional” label as I define it, merely means I derive income from it and by no means implies mastery. I’m learning every time I pick up the camera. Most of my photographic income is from portraiture and event work. My landscape work is mostly about experience and being present in the natural world. As far as experience goes, I’m self taught, starting in the late 90’s. I became “serious” maybe around 2010.
Anyway…I look forward to good discussions, conversation and exchange of knowledge and ideas!
This image is not necessarily my favorite, but one of my most recent. To be honest, my style varies and often follows my emotional state.

1 Like

Welcome Bob to the NPN community. Glad you found the site and look forward to your updates over time… :sunglasses:
We’ve had a few folks here on NPN from your area around the Adirondacks in NY. The Benway’s were very active here years ago. I do know John & his daughter Wendy are still out there photographing scenes as I know Wendy was honored on one of her photos recently from that area as a cover photo on Adirondack Life… :+1:

1 Like

Welcome to NPN, Bob. I’m glad you decided to follow Matt’s suggestion and join NPN. This is a very friendly community with a vast amount of knowledge at your fingertips. Your image is really beautiful and powerful. Being surrounded by nature is very rewarding, and your photo gives us a glimpse of that loud and clear. I look forward to more interactions with you.

1 Like

Hi Bob and Welcome to NPN, I’ve been here for just a few months and my learning experience has been great.
Everyone is kind and very willing to share their knowledge.