Hello, I'm Misaki!

Hello everyone! My name is Misaki, I am originally from Japan, and currently living in Los Angeles, California. I work as a classical pianist professionally, but photography has been a huge hobby of mine since young. I joined this community to meet like-minded people, be inspired, and to learn and grow more!

I’m still figuring out how to use this platform, but I just wanted to say hi to you all and I’m looking forward to getting to know you!

The picture was taken at Sitka National Historical Park in Alaska while I was living in the town as an artist-in-residence from earlier this year :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Welcome, Misaki. This is a lovely introduction for us to enjoy. Not only is the light and contrast really pleasing, but the composition works beautifully, I really like the lines of streaming light and the way they emphasize the unoccupied bench. I think of many things looking at this image: who has sat there and is now gone; who will fill this spot next; what does the forest feel like when nobody is there.

Really nice work. You have come to a wonderful community and I’m sure we will learn from you as well as sharing insights to encourage your growth as well.

Welcome to the community, Misaki!

I absolutely love the photograph you shared here, and I look forward to seeing what else you post.

Hi Misaki! Welcome to NPN! This is a great community of like minded photographers.

I really like your first post. I love the light through the mist. Good exposure and comp. I can’t wait to see more of your work.

Thank you so much @Marylynne_Diggs for your warm welcome and thoughtful comments! I am really glad to hear your emotional response to the photo as well, since that’s something I’ve been working on- not just to take ‘beautiful’ photos, but meaningful and that can evoke emotions.

It’s a pleasure meeting you here, and I look forward to be in this inspiring and encouraging community!