Hey, I'm Steve. Greetings from Georgia!

I’ve been checking NPN out for a while, laying low and just enjoying the image critiques and Ask Me Anything, and now I’m ready to jump in and join the community!

I’m an aquatic biologist - dare I say an ichthyologist - and environmental consultant living in metro Atlanta. I get really excited about making images of streams, mountains, forests, landscapes, intimate scenes, coastal areas, and nature in general. I especially enjoy photo trips to the Smoky Mountains with my club, the Georgia Nature Photographers Association. This image is from one of those trips. I call it Wonderland for what I was feeling but also to recall the Wonderland Hotel, which once attracted tourists nearby in the early 1900s.

By joining the NPN community, I look forward to gaining exposure to the art and ideas of others, learning about new ways to see, and becoming more personally expressive through my own nature photography.

Cheers!

2 Likes

Hi Steve, Welcome to NPN. I love this image and look forward to seeing more of your work. This is the best site on the internet to grow as a photographer. I would encourage you to offer critiques as well as posting your own work. Best wishes, Allen.

1 Like

Thanks, Allen!

Welcome to NPN, Steve. It is great that you say you are now ready to jump in. I hope you share more of your beautiful work and also your expertise with this very friendly community.

Welcome to NPN, it is a great place to be to grow and evolve as a photographer getting and giving comments on images. I like a lot your first posting, looking forward to see more of your images!

Hi Steve, and welcome to NPN! I love this shot - it has so much depth, and I forward to seeing more of your work and to your input on other images. If you have any troubles or questions about the site don’t hesitate to reach out!

BTW, I’m also working towards creating more expressive photography myself. :slight_smile: