Hi! I'm Jenaya Launstein, ask me anything!

Hi everyone! My name is Jenaya Launstein and I’m a wildlife photographer based in southwestern Alberta, Canada. I’ve been a member of NPN for nearly 10 years, so when David approached me about contributing with an Ask Me Anything, I was totally on board.

When I was 10 years old, I told my parents I wanted to be a wildlife photographer. After a few years of constantly talking about it, my parents bought me a new (to me) DSLR for my 13th birthday and I’ve been hooked ever since.

My dad used to be a fine art nature and equine photographer, so I guess you could say photography runs in the family! Soon after I got into wildlife photography, my dad joined me, and a couple years down the road, so did my younger brother.

In 2016, our family opened up the Launstein Imagery Wildlife Art Gallery in Crowsnest Pass, Alberta. It’s been an amazing experience to say the least! If you’re ever in the area, we would love to welcome you to our gallery.

To learn more about my family and I, you can check out our website at www.launsteinimagery.com. You can also check out my work on Facebook as Jenaya Launstein Photography (Launstein Imagery for the whole family’s photography) and Instagram as @jenayalaunsteinphotography (@launsteinimagery for the whole family’s photography). If you don’t have social media I’m also in the middle of setting up my portfolio on NPN, which you can find in Member Portfolios under the Community tab.

Anyway, I’d better stop rambling on or else you’ll have nothing left to ask me! So go ahead, ask me anything photography or wildlife related. Just a heads up, I like to focus on the more creative side of photography, so I may not be the best person for super technical questions…

AMA Rules