Hi! I'm Mike.

Hi everyone, I’m a long-time chaser of light. I’ve been shooting since the autofocus system on the Minolta Maxxum cameras was the “big news” (1986). But even with 35 years of photography behind me, I’m still learning and growing as a photographer every day. Although I still haven’t learned to “never give up on a sunset”, regardless of how many times I’m reminded. :slight_smile:

Life is a wandering road, with thrills, chills, and spills. I’ve been in and out of the photography community through the years (more recently “out” or “lurking”). So I hope those within the community that I’ve met and bonded with in the past remember me from the DeviantArt days. And for those that I’ve yet to meet, I’d hope that we get along like best buds.

I’ve been an amateur for the most part, briefly dipping my toes in print sales a few years back. In 2012 I was introduced to a couple, Tony and Chelsea, while they were working on their photography book and wrote a two page spread on Landscape Photography basics, which was included in the initial publish of their book. They’ve done quite well for themselves since then and it’s been a pleasure to see that progress and grateful to them for the opportunity to contribute early on.

I currently live in the Austin, Texas area (25 years) but have a long love affair with the San Juan mountains in Colorado. When I lived in Glenwood Springs, I explored when I wasn’t working and I wandered down 550 one outing and fell in love. I’ve also lived in Cottonwood, Arizona, where I have family, and love the red rocks of Sedona and Oak Creek canyon. When I have a chance to travel, it’s usually to one of these two areas and the space in between.

Why am I here? Well, there are many reasons. But mostly I’ve missed being active in the community. I hope to learn more where I lack knowledge and experience, to help out others where I am able to, to inspire and be inspired, and to contribute to the photography community in any way that I can.