I'm Ben Horne, ask me anything!

Hi everyone! My name is Ben Horne and I’m a landscape photographer from San Diego, California. For eleven years, I balanced my full-time job with my landscape photography business—but that all changed at the start of the pandemic. In March of 2020, I quit my job to pursue landscape photography full-time.

I’m extremely well versed in both film and digital, though I prefer to work exclusively with a traditional 8x10 view camera. The process-oriented approach of large format instills a sense of calm and patience within me—which is often reflected in my work. I’m drawn most to smaller scenes, with most of my work created in the American southwest.

My video journals on YouTube document my solo landscape photography adventures to Death Valley, Zion, and my solo backpacking trips to the canyons of southern Utah. On average, I spend just 3 weeks in the field each year—and although this doesn’t sound like much, my trips are highly immersive, allowing me to produce a significant amount of work in a short period of time.

In addition to the YouTube channel, I co-host a weekly photography podcast with Cody Schultz called Creative Banter. This podcast gives a wonderful opportunity to discuss life experiences, art, and photography through long-format conversation.

If you have any questions about me, my work, my photography business, or anything else, I’d love to hear from you.

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/benhorne
Twitter: @benhorne https://twitter.com/benhorne
Instagram: @benhorne https://www.instagram.com/benhorne/

AMA Rules

• Please only ask one question by replying to this topic a single time, using the yellow Reply button at the bottom. It’s also helpful to scroll to the bottom while reading the topic to make sure nobody else has asked the same question first, before you ask.

• Please don’t ask more than one question, so everyone gets a chance.