Leaving NPN

I have been an NPN for many years. I used to be on the site all the the time posting images and offering critiques. I learned an awful lot from the site. I am a better photographer because of NPN. However, the recent changes have not been good, at least for me. I find the site enormously complicated and very difficult to navigate. Nothing is obvious. My joy at visiting the old site has now morphed into frustration on navigating the new site. I don’t even visit the site any more. So, it is with a heavy heart that I inform all of you that I will not be renewing my membership.

Sorry to hear that Jerry, but before you go I’ll make a navigation suggestion. I shared your frustration at first until David pointed out that little emblem in the upper left hand corner. Pressing it takes you from wherever you are back to the main index/navigation page. I tried it and have found it very handy, to the point that I wish other sites were so well arranged.

Give it a jiggle a few times before you go. If you’re a geezer like me, you might find it to be just what the doctor ordered.

Thanks for your reply Hank. I feel the problems with the site, at least for me, are more than a back button can fix. I am indeed an old geezer, if being 65 qualifies one for that distinction. However, I am very computer proficient and have designed several web sites for myself and others. This site just requires too much work. Navigating this site, or any site for that matter, should be effortless and intuitive. If it’s not, it just causes frustration. This site should be about easily accessing great images and great discussions. It shouldn’t be an exercise on how to navigate the site. The site has so much going on on any one page that it is overwhelming. I found myself spending most of my time trying to figure out how to go where I wanted to go and very little time enjoying the images. It saddens me to leave, but the joy I once had being a member died with the new format.

1 Like

Jerry,