Mt Rainier Wildflowers

Mt Rainier National Park, Paradise area, August 12th, 2019

I just joined this group and this is my first post on NPN. I am a self taught photographer and have made a living as a graphic designer for the last 25+ years.

I’m looking for an overall critique of this image. Post production ideas/changes as well as composition critique.

I wanted this image to be about the wildflowers in the morning light. This is a single image capture, a polarizer filter was used because I was shooting perpendicular to the sun to cut down on the glare from the dew - droplets formed on the flowers from the previous nights heavy fog. Post production was in PS Lightroom and final touches in PS. The streaks of light coming from the right side were created by a row of trees the sun was rising/shinning through. A tripod was used while camera was just a foot above the flowers in the foreground.

Nikon D850
Nikon 16-35mm f/4
@ f/11
1/30 sec
ISO 64

Thanks for you time,

Chris

Here’s most if not all suggestions I tried to make.
The two images just have different crops. 4x5 & 4x6. Maybe a bit more vignetting in the lower corners? I know there’s a few edge distraction I need to deal with as well. This post work is so tedious.

@Igor_Doncov I tried to adjust what you suggested, I think I did evened out the playing field a bit more between the darker & lighter yellows. Part of the problem may be 1. there’s two different plant surfaces taller flowers vs. with shorter grass and moss, 2. maybe the low-res version is throwing things off even more?

@Youssef_Ismail I can partly see what you’re saying about the crunchy fir bough’s. Maybe it’s the low res vs. high-res? Or may it’s just that I have too much contrast in those areas. Could you circle the areas so I know exactly where you’re talking about.

Thanks again for everyone’s input.!

Here’s my latest adjustments. Only difference is 4x6 & 4x5 crops.
Have a wonderful rest of your weekend.

1 Like

Welcome, Chris!