Mud Cracks - Vancouver Island

This is my first attempt photographing mud cracks. Living on Vancouver Island I don’t often get to shoot such scenes but this winter has been particularly dry, leaving many lakes water levels much lower than usual. Any feedback is appreciated, thank you

What technical feedback would you like if any? Composition/Anything

What artistic feedback would you like if any? Processing/Anything

Pertinent technical details or techniques: 140mm, f10, 1/20, ISO100

If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
1 Like

Nik, welcome to NPN, this is a great first post, and I look forward to seeing more of your work here. And finally, it’s nice to see some mud cracks from someplace other than Death Valley :grinning:

I love that pyramid shaped crack in the center of the image, triangles are very powerful elements in a composition, and this is a great one. And the fact that it is spotlit also makes this element jump off the screen. The choice to process in B&W was a good one, this probably does a much more effective job of emphazing the abstract nature of this image than a color version ever would.

To me, the trick to these type of images is paying attention to the frame edges and avoiding distractions such as hot spots near the edge, or crack lines that lead out of the edge in a way that detracts from the center of the image. The bright patches along the lower frame edge pull my eye away from the center of the image, and I would recommend cropping them away. Perhaps more nitpicky is the vertical crack in the lower right corner (LRC) that is parallel to the right frame edge.