Owens Valley Dawn

What technical feedback would you like if any?

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

This is my first post ever in the NPN landscape section. I’ve been a past member in the old NPN under Avian for several years but just got into Landscape photography 4-5 years ago and rarely shoot birds anymore. So, my question is, Can this be more refined? I’m not even sure what I mean by that but is there too much contrast, color, are there white balance issues? Could this be made better as it is one of my favorite images that I took early on about 3 years ago. Just looking for feedback as I’ve been watching now for over a year and I love the feedback that the members provide. I’m looking for that kind of feedback and I promise I’ll do my best to chime in on other posts but I’m not that technically savvy with Photoshop. I’m almost exclusively a Lightroom processor but I have been in photoshop before, it’s just a year or two. Looking forward to be more of a participant rather than a lookie-loo. Pretty intimidating! :slight_smile:

Pertinent technical details or techniques: This was shot just north of Bishop alongside the road heading towards Mammoth Mountain early in the morning. 1/5 sec @ F/16, 240mm, ISO 80, D810, 80-400mm. Single image

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

Interesting scene. I think all of the colors work well together. I have attached an image suggesting maybe playing with the crop a little. I like the grass at the bottom and the texture at the top but I feel it could be cut down some. On my screen, the highlights in the grass seem a tad high so I dropped those as well and added a tad bit of contrast overall with a vignette… Just my two cents though. Nice photo.