Question About Limited Edition Prints

I have been doing local art shows for about 5 years now. I have mostly been selling matted prints, metal prints, and canvases. Lately, I have been thinking I would start offering limited edition prints but have a few questions about limited editions and acceptable uses of the image in the future.

Let’s say I select an image to print as a 16x24 matted print on fine art baryta paper in a run of 250.

Can I offer that image for sale in any other medium (such as photo paper or metal) as an open-edition print?

Can I offer the image as a print in another size or medium as another limited edition? Like a 20x30 acrylic print in a limited edition of 250.

Since I’ve been doing shows for a few years, if I have already sold a print as a non-numbered/unlimited print on regular photo paper or metal, can I still create a limited print run of that image? Or should I select only images that have never been printed before?

I’d appreciate any opinions and advice you might have!

I don’t have any experience in this area, Luke, but if I were one of your customers, and I found out you were offering the same print again on a different material, I would not be happy. Just my opinion.

1 Like

I agree! But I have read opinions out there that each size and each material can be their own limited edition. But I also think that kind of defeats the purpose of limited edition prints. SO I am wondering what others have done.

I disagree with this. If one offers a limited edition, the edition should be for a single media type and size, exclusively. The image should not be offered for sale as a print once the limit is reached.

A limited edition is simply a statement of the image’s value. If the image is offered in various sizes, or media, and if the number of prints is high, then the value to collectors is diminished. To me, that defeats the purpose.
–P

That was my impression as well.