Second brood

Description:

Our local robins are on their second brood for the year. When I found this shell I wanted to photograph it and decided on a more stylized approach - a natural still-life if you will. This is my first attempt to do one - where I more deliberately place and choose props. Plus I used an LED panel to give me a little dramatic lighting without seeming too artificial. At least that’s my hope. Since this was in heavy shade with only the light panel positioned up and behind (on a GorillaPod), I underexposed about 2/3 stop and then added a bit of exposure in post. Managing the highlights and the whites was pretty key. I pulled 17 frames from a 20+ batch of focus-bracketed images for the final stack.

Anyway…I am not 100% satisfied with it. The composition is a little static, but it’s a start and something I will continue to explore.

Specific Feedback Requested:

Really anything helpful is fine. It’s a work in progress. Is the lighting too weird?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Is this a composite? - no, multi-exposure
Tripod & LED panel on another one
Focus bracketing +4 step, 17 exposures, 0/+ method

Lr processed as above using some local brush work on the leaf and the egg, a graduated filter on the background and a slight vignette. Adjusted aqua slider to the warmer end. Sharpening & nr. Slight crop. Zerene DMap image with some retouching for a goopy background and some other glitches.

1 Like

Kris, I think you are a little hard on yourself. To me you have put together a nice image here. I love the color contrast, for sure, the eggshell against the brown leaf is nice. I am wondering if maybe a pano to crop some of the top out and a little from the bottom would rid the top BG that seems different than the rest, and allow the leaf and eggshell to have more of the attention. Just a thought.

1 Like

Hey @Kris_Smith,