Self-Introduction

My name is Guy. I live in the Western US, and am originally from California. I am retired and live on the road. I do mostly landscape imagery. I am heavy Lightroom user while still learning some aspects of Photoshop. I have been photographing since 1970. I majored in commercial photography in college, then spent 18 years working in commercial labs making photo composites on 8x10 film. I hated it. I then got into IT, worked as a self employed geek for the balance of my working life.

I studied photo history and art history in and out of college, then got heavily into the history of the Americas from pre-conquest through the Pueblo Revolt. I am considering joining NPN to have access to discussions away from a social app environment where image life is measured in milli-seconds.

I prefer B&W imagery but also shoot color. I feel I might be able to add to discussions and critiques.

Grhen
The Shroud, Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park, AZ.

6 Likes

Be most welcome @Guy_Manning.

Very good introduction, both in words and image. I find the texture to be just gorgeous, and love how you composed it.

Hope you enjoy this community and i can’t wait to “read” some of your knowledge and see your images.

Cheers.

Thank you for the warm welcome. I am glad you liked the image.

Hello Green, Very interesting introduction here, this shiny grey slab of rock is might impressive… I expect a dwarf to swing this door open, surfacing from his subterranean castle at any time … other than that, welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello Guy, welcome again to NPN. I hope you’ll find this place a much more supportive and friendly social setting…I dropped off social media this year because of just what you mentioned.

I really like the image you posted. Kind of reminds me of the Lord of the Rings where they were trying to enter the mines of Moria. :grinning: