Shiprock, NM

I would love any help you may be able to provide since I am fairly new to photo editing. This shot was from a trip with the Kingham’s to Bisti Wilderness and Shiprock, NM. It was taken with a Nikon D850 and a Sigma 14mm F1.8 lens. GREAT LENS! The foreground was F2, ISO 2500, 63 seconds. The sky was F2, ISO 5000, 8 Seconds. The light source was from the nearby town of shiprock, NM. I lucked out on this shot. The composition I like. I have struggled with the monochromatic color of the foreground. Any suggestions on how to improve are welcome.

2 Likes

I’m not much of a photo editor myself, so I can’t offer any tips on post.I like the image with the curving road leading to the rock formation and the comp looks good to my eye. I would suggest darkening Shiprock and the FG some to bring it more in line with the night sky.:vulcan_salute:

1 Like

Hi Bill I really like this. The simple colour pallete works well. The only thing I’d suggest is brightening/pulling back some detail from the shadows of the clouds on the left to balance it out with the lighter right hand side.

1 Like

This is quite nice. The foreground looks good to me. I might further emphasize the mixed light on the rock wall, adding some contrast by bringing up the high values in the darker areas of Shiprock.

1 Like

I will give it a try Michael. Thank you.

There is little information in the left side shadows. I will work on it though. Thanks!

1 Like

When I shot this the mountain was pitch black. The shadows have little detail. But I will work on it and see if I can do as you suggest Harley. Thanks much.

Hi Bill,

Honestly, I don’t think I would change a thing. The lighting and colors as is give an incredible sense of mystery to this image. I think you nailed it.

1 Like

Bill,

Welcome to NPN and Woah! What an outstanding first post. I think this is unique and amazing as posted.