Still Gazing

I believe one of my very first posts here was an image of this tree. After acquiring a faster lens, I took some of the advice I received here and went back and shot this again.

Specific Feedback Requested

any feedback

Technical Details

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
Rokinon AF 14mm f/2.8
ISO 6400 14mm f/2.8 30.0 sec

Lightroom

2 Likes

Hi Leon,

I can’t really give any technical feedback on images like this because my experience with them is very limited, but I can say that I really like it :slight_smile:
Wow, to get a sunrise or sunset exposed right…and capture the milky way at the same time is awesome IMHO.
Now I’m curious if this was facing SE or SW, Ha! :slight_smile:

I’m curious about the length of the exposure as well, was the scene much darker to the naked eye than what shows up in your image? It seems that with a wide open aperture on a wide angle lens with ISO at 6400, it had to be pretty dark.
As stated, I have no experience at this kind of work but I am interested, it’s very intriguing.

Don’t bother with any detailed explanations, please, that is probably way too much to ask for, I can dig in a do some studying (one of my favorite things to do BTW).

Beautiful work!

I believe this was a 30 second exsposure. The cool thing, at least to me, is that’s actually the moon setting. The higher in the sky it was, the more it was washing out the milkyway. I tried to find a ballance with the timing to squeeze all the elements in a single exsposure. The yellow glow is light pollution from the city on the other side of the lake.

1 Like

Wow, Leon
That is really cool, I didn’t consider it being the moon and that’s probably because we don’t get to see the moon or the sun directly on the horizon here in central NC.

Yeah, I get that because I’ve had issues with that myself.