Sunwapta falls

I feel like I’ve run out of photos to process now that we’re a couple of weeks into this corona lock down so I thought I’d revisit some older shots where the light and colour wasn’t inspiring and see what I can make of them in black and white.

This was shot in Jasper national park in pretty flat light last year.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Any. I’m not very experienced in B&w. I was thinking that there might not be enough tonal separation from the trees in the center of the frame and the mountain in the background.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

I typically process black and white low key and contrasty but I’m happy to hear others opinions.

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username belo

@nathankleinphotos

2 Likes

Nathan, this is an iconic scene, but as they say, it is an icon for a reason. What I love most about this image is just how creamy the water looks. In the Canadian Rockies chances are it’s often cloudy enough that you don’t have to worry about not getting long exposures like this. The composition looks very well balanced here, and includes just enough sky to communicates a sense of a stormy day.

I have suggestions for tweaks. The vignette in the URC feels a little heavy. I agree with your hunch on needing a little more tonal separation of the trees on the island from the mountain. I would also clone away the rock in the river that merges with the frame edge. I would like to see some very slight dodging of the highlight areas on the foreground rocks to sculpt the light there a bit.