Value in entering local photography contests?

As a new member of NPN and an amateur landscape photographer, I am inviting feedback from the NPN community on this subject. Members of my photo club feel that my lack of submissions in local photo contests (which there are a great many) is odd. It seems as if entries = wins = recognition = validation of photographic skill. I have my reasons for not entering these contests (which I have, by the way, several times over the years), but I won’t discuss here. But I believe, perhaps naively, that I already possess some amount of photographic skill which does not need validation with contest wins. If I harbored any doubt about my skill, modest as it may be (remember I am an untrained amateur), I would not have a website for all to see. Furthermore, photography is a fun and rewarding hobby, and I have no desire to seek either recognition or a second career. Does anyone care to comment?

Hi Marc
I will preface my remarks in a comment as to your post’s clarity. I am unsure if you are talking about contests where critiques are offered versus contests and juried shows where no critique is offered.
Having said that I have two observations.
First as to when critiques are offered: I think they are valuable to most anyone except perhaps people who are seasoned and recognized pros. Seeing photography through the eyes of another is always helpful.
Secondly the local competitions. Are you talking about juried shows? Thats a matter of personal preference. They can be kind of fun- going to the openings and getting to know other photographers. and artists (in the case of mixed media shows). You also will learn more about what people are looking for. It may influence how and what you present on your website. I kind of have the theory that not showing work is like whether a tree falling in the forest makes noise if no one is there to hear it. The juried shows can be a lot of work and expense though and they are not everyone’s cup of tea.