Web Hosting

I’m interested in hearing your opinions on the various choices for hosting images. Currently I’m considering Smugbug and Squarespace but I would be interested in others. I did find something better than these two but they were in the $35 per month price range and I can’t justify that cost given how much traffic I’m likely to get.

My intention is to display multiple galleries and a blog. The blog should have the ability to contain verbiage interspersed with multiple images.

Thank you for your help.

Igor, I have some recent experience with websites, but it isn’t directly related to your specific question on blog integration. I had a portfolio website with Zenfolio for many years. During the pandemic lockdown, I decided to totally revamp my website, which was long overdue. This is still a work in progress. But at the suggestion of David Kingham I switched from Zenfolio to Smugmug. To me the primary benefits were better image quality of large size images (limited to 1550px at Zen, up to 4,000px at Smug, makes a very noticeable difference on high res monitors), and the Smugmug plugin for Lightroom, which makes ongoing management of images on the site a breeze, from LR Publish you can easily manage image adds/deletes/edits on Smug from directly in LR. Zen has no plugin, there is a third party Zen plugin, but I found it very confusing to use.

The downside is Smug has no direct blog integration, Zen does, but it is not very robust, and I found it such a pain to use that I gave up. You can have your portfolio on Smug, and have a linked blog elsewhere, but it is not easy to get the the look and feel the same across both. If a blog is very important to you, then Smug is probably not a good choice, despite the advantages I discussed.

It looks as though David has a nice presentation dealing with this subject. I’ll just use the existing literature.

I did an even more in-depth article here, happy to answer any questions if this doesn’t clear it up.

1 Like