Wood Violets and Ferns

Description:

I found an unusually large patch of Wood Violets on the forest floor while out exploring near Pulpit Falls in southern New Hampshire. What attracted me to this small scene was the way the ferns intermingled with the violets. I recently posted a shot from this same location of just the violets over in Flora Critique. So for here in landscape critique I decided to go with a wider view that picked up the ferns as well. I went looking for waterfall shots, and was happy to come away with this as well. The color combination of violet and green appealed to me a lot.

Specific Feedback Requested:

Any critique or comments are welcome

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Is this a composite? (focus stacks or exposure blends are not considered composites) No

Rework with new crop, increased vignette and more yellow green color separation.

5 Likes

I am new to the network so very much in the learning process of these critiques. I like the spatial arrangement of the three ferns in the middle and the violets nicely spaced and surrounding them. The ferns in the upper right hand corner help lead my eye back into the photograph. While I seem to generally be drawn to the central ferns, I do find my eyes wandering a bit so I wonder if some dodging in the center or somehow separating the hues of the ferns and other leaves a bit more would help.

What a beautiful collection or color and shapes. I agree that the ferns add a lot to this image. They add a level of complexity and therefore richness. If it were me I would clone out all the flowers along the edge of the frames. Actually a crop off the left side helps the composition but it does break down the overall format of the image and I believe that you like your images in certain formats. When I’ve seen such composition they are often vignetted. It might be a good idea to do so after the crop,