Yellowstone Serenity

A re-worked Oldie , one of my favorites.
Bison grazing in snow-muffled silence broken only by an occasional wolf howl, beyond a stand of skeletal trees.

2007:02:05 12:45:49
D1X
300mm
1/750 sec, f/8
Mode: Av
Metering: Multi-segment
Exp comp: +2/3
ISO: 200
White balance: Flash
Flash: Off

All comments welcome

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
2 Likes

I seem to remember this one, Sandy. A really lovely image with a lot more to look at than appears at first glance. I might be tempted to remove that small leaning tree in the foreground as it seems to disrupt the flow of the image, but that’s pretty minor.

I have always had mixed feelings about that little tree - would love to hear what others think - yes or no?

Sandy

It’s a stunning image Sandy ! I don’t remember seeing it before but it is awesome!
And I don’t mind the leaning tree at all.:sunglasses:

This is my first time seeing this shot, and I think it’s fantastic. Such wonderful graphic elements. I’m not a “cloner,” so I would keep the leaning tree, but from an artistic standpoint it would probably be cleaner without it.

Max

This is about as good as it gets Sandy! Wow…

1 Like

You can almost hear the quiet. I like the relation of bison and trees. There is multiplicity with both, yet the snow brings them so rightly together. One accenting the horizontal, while the other, the vertical. I think you need the little tree, because the photo may seem too neat, too composed without it. That little tree adds some motion, asymmetry, and life as you find it. It can seem to annoy a little, but I thinks that’s good. Well done.

Lovely image. I heard years ago that Navajo rug weavers deliberately create a flaw in every rug they weave, through which the evil spirits can escape. Not sure if it’s true, but it’s a good story. That being said, I have certainly cloned out many little annoying objects, but I actually think that little tree balances the composition.