A tiny wonderment

I’ve been taking photos like this for a long time so when I saw Anne Belmont’s article about her newfound appreciation for the desiccated and withered, it was like I wasn’t alone out there. Sometimes beauty can be found in things past their prime, so to speak. And as we all age, I think we can all come to appreciate being appreciated.

I have no idea what these flowers are, but since they’re in the front yard in the woods I’ll just check on them from time to time to see when they are fresh for an ID.

Specific Feedback Requested

Is there enough DOF to make this interesting? Maybe I should have used more images to stack, but I’m really new to it so I erred on the side of caution. Is the green too weird? It’s some evergreen fern I believe and I thought it added a little variation to the scene.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: Yes
Lumix G9
Leica DG 45mm f2.8 macro
f/8 | 1/15 sec | ISO 200
Tripod
Image stack - I think it’s just two - part of my experimental phase

Lr to process for exposure, clarity & texture. I don’t think it’s cropped much. A bit of sharpening & NR then to Zerene for a quick stack.

the.wire.smith
1 Like

Kristen, I love the delicate beauty of this. The wisps of white hair thingies are so pretty.
Since you asked, I do think the green in LLC could be replaced with the same tan tone that is everywhere else in the background. But the subject is what drew my eye in the first place, and I wasn’t distracted by the green.
A beauty.

Thanks so much…good to know.