Cooper's Hawk + Repost for crop

The second-largest of the Accipiters and, according to iNaturalist, endangered in Oklahoma. This one has been hanging around my yard for a couple weeks before giving me an opportunity for some decent shots.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any. Is the framing of the two large limbs too overpowering?

Technical Details

Canon 60D, Canon 70-300mm IS USM Zoom, f/13, 1/250 sec., ISO 400. Processed in ACR and PSE 2022 for exposure and cropping. Topaz DeNoise.

2 Likes

Hi Terry,

I think this is a mighty fine image with great detail on the hawk, the colors are amazing and I think the pose is really good, too.
I can see it’s feet and part of its breast which is where the colors shine along with the eye color.
Not seeing the talons isn’t a big deal for me but I’m an amateur when it comes to avian photography.

To answer your question, I actually like it as presented, but, you might benefit from a crop just under the top limb and maybe crop in from the right some to get rid of the limb stub and to put the hawk off center, it might make it a stronger image overall but those are just my personal thoughts on framing.
One little nit for me is the out of focus twig in the FG LLC where it covers the limb could stand to not be there, maybe just clone it out or use whatever method you prefer?

I’m sure that other more experienced avian photographers can give you better advice the I can.

It’s a might fine image though, especially since it’s on the endangered list.

An impressive shot Terry. Beautiful colours on the bird and and pin sharp focus on the eye and head.
The two branches make for a strong framing top and bottom of the shot and maybe the top one could be cropped out as I’m not sure if it actually adds anything . Also on my screen there seems to be a little bit of a colour hue, maybe it’s just a low sun, or maybe it’s my screen.
Lovely photo.

1 Like