Cypress Swamp Abstract

Image: Cypress Swamp Abstract

Description: This was a reflection I have tried to get a number of times at a wetlands preserve in SW Florida. I have another shot of this with the top 1/3 of the tree base showing above the water line. I think that makes it a better composition but this one really highlights the reflection more and brings in an abstract feeling.

Specific Feedback Requested: I am new to abstract shots so any feedback would be appreciated. This time of year there isn’t much color variation in the wetland/swamp. Not sure if it’s too dark though.

Pertinent technical details or techniques: Sony A7R4, 85mm, ƒ/14.0, 1/6sec, ISO100

1 Like

Josh, I’m enjoying how stretched the trunk reflections feel. I think the darkness is fine here as it accentuates the “moodiness” that part of what I enjoy about swamps. One thing that I believe about abstracts is that in many instances you want relatively even brightness and especially contrast throughout the frame. In this case, I would try dodging the left 1/4, to lighten slightly the two main trunks, but also to lighten the darker bits, since that part of the frame seem a bit dark. If you use luminosity masks, that dodging can be done separately throught a brights mask and a middle darks mask. The luminosity mask approach lets you change local brightness and darkness without changing everything.

1 Like