Fantastic Voyage

This is a favorite of mine from northern Minnesota. For me, the little sunstar in the middle is the icing on the cake, and the object that everything else points to. I’m no sunstar expert, but I usually just set a small aperture and make sure the sun is touching the edge of something on at least one side (ideally all sides, like when shining through trees).

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Any and all

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Any and all

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)
ISO 50, 16mm, f/22, 0.5 sec

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

@brentgoesoutsidephoto

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
2 Likes

Brent, I agree, there’s a fine “zoom” effect from the sunstar and island to the leafy frame. In my (also very limited) experience with sunstars, it seems like the harder the edge the clearer the star. I have a couple of shots with the sun coming through trees that didn’t turn out well, unlike this view… :man_shrugging:

Nice image,Brent. Love the frame you’ve created with the foliage and trees. The FG flowers add some extra pop. No :vulcan_salute:critiques from me.

Wow! Great image here. Superb framing with the leaves. They also serve as leading lines pointing towards the island. Great light- I assume this is dawn? The calm water and sky don’t take away from that starburst. Nice work!

Brent, I love this shot! Shooting from a 'hidden" point of view and the framing works beautifully. Even without the sunstar this is a winner! I see why it is a favorite of yours!

Thanks all! @Marc_McCann this is actually a sunset on a calm evening.