Hi all, I'm Donna

I jumped the gun and posted a critique image and forgot to introduce myself so I’m back stepping a little now.

I’m retired and spend a lot of time walking the trails and parks around Ithaca, N.Y. with my camera gear. I like photographing intimate landscapes, waterfalls, macro, birds and small scenes. There aren’t many opportunities in this area to shoot grand landscapes because of all the hills. I’ve been learning the skills of photography and Photoshop for about 3 years. I used my iPhone as a camera for the first year and then purchased a professional full frame camera. I’m looking forward to being a part of this community. I’m loving my first critique session and have already met some of the community.

3 Likes

Being retired and a nature photographer is the bomb. I’ve been doing it for a few years and love it. This is a great look at these two ospreys. Nesting I imagine. Energy to burn until the kids come. Glad you found your way here and I hope to see more of your work. Oh and grand landscapes are nice in their way, but you’ll find a lot of appreciation for other things here. Cheers!

Thanks Kristen. It is a nesting place that was built in one of our local parks. The Osprey return every year. You may know this, but the female is sitting. It has a necklace around it’s neck.

I had no idea there was any plumage difference between the genders. Very cool - thanks for sharing that. I really need to plant my kayak and shoot these guys. There are two rivers 20 minutes away that have active populations. Such explosive action with these guys.

Hi, Donna and welcome to NPN. I think you’ll enjoy the interaction and the friendly, helpful critiques. I’m an amateur wildlife photographer, so almost never comment on landscapes, unless they really strike me for some reason. This is a fine first image; good detail in the birds and the wingspread of the one is awesome. Good work.