Hi folks. I'm Dale

I’m an active hobbyist. Birds have been my thing for the past few years and I’m just slowly stepping into the world of landscape. My photography interest goes back to a high school club in the 1970’s. Nature interest has been life-long, probably starting with family camping trips. After numerous detours and other life distractions, I started up again more seriously ~10 years ago.

My interest is just a personal journey, ideally with plenty of growth and learning along the way. I am not striving to turn pro.

I haven’t really been satisfied with the few other seminars and classes I’ve tried to date. Based on a first glance, NPN looks like an ideal place for me. I’m looking forward to getting to know the site and learning first, how I might fit in.

3 Likes

Hi, Dale. Welcome to NPN! I think you’ll find a friendly, helpful community of skilled photographers here. I know they have helped me improve my photography.

Nice first image. Blacks are so difficult to process correctly, but you did a fine job with good details. Looking forward to seeing more of your photography.

Hello Dale, and welcome to NPN. I am sure you’ll get a lot out of this community. I started out in my photographic journey with the high school year book, similar to the club you mention, and about the same time too (1974).

I really like your image here. The first thing I thought of when I saw it was: “Thus Quoth the Raven: Nevermore.” :slightly_smiling_face:

Photography for me is a personal journey as well, so looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Cheers,
David

Welcome to NPN, Dale! Love your first post. I’m sure you’ll like this site, everyone is friendly and honest with feedback and critiques. It sounds like you already have a lot of experience, looking forward to more of your work and seeing your feedback as well.