SPRING YELLOWS

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

Living on the Central Coast of California, visiting this year’s superbloom at the Carrizo Plain National Monument is a must! We were lucky to find clouds in the sky and a constantly changing cloud/sun combination over the landscape. The sight is breathtaking. I kept taking shots of the mountains and managed to get one of sunlight directly on the yellow-covered mountain.

Specific Feedback

I am new to landscape photography. My work is primarily flowers. I am interested in feedback about the composition. Does it need cropping? I am also interested in any suggestions about processing in LR or PS. I appreciate any and all comments!

Technical Details

Olympus OMD II, ISO 200, f/6.3, 1/400 sec. Sky was replaced with clouds from similar shot.

1 Like

Hi Ann Louise, :slight_smile:

I can’t make any claims of being a landscape photographer but I am an experience viewer of landscape images. Does that count? :slight_smile:

I love the yellow color in this!
Not downplaying the effectiveness of the color in your mage but It has to be much better (emotionally) to see this in person!

This has a nice layered look to me, the FG is one layer, the water is another, then the middle ground area, then the area with the smaller strip of water that adjoins the foot of the mountain is another, then there’s the mountain and finally, the sky. Those layers (to me) create depth and definition.

The angled waterline where it meets the FG land is very pleasing and essential for creating an imagined periphery outside of the frame (left and right).
Another way of saying it is this: If the water were parallel and level across the image, my mind would assume that it’s the same beyond the left and right sides of the frame. That’s kind of boring and even static.