Unsure about this

Hi!
My name is TJ for short and I’m new to NPN, so this is my first submission to this critique forum.
I took this picture of Lemmens Inlet, in Clayoquot Sound whilst on an evening kayak trip with my trusty four legged companion and excellent kayaker ‘Sawyer’ (you might meet him at the next weekly pet-dog competition …does such happen on NPN ;)? ).

Anyways, I didn’t get the background sharp (got to the rim of my gum boots tho) but personally love the bending tree on the right in conjunction with the rest of the shapes and forms.
Unfortunately, I don’t have any photographers in my circle and the people I usually show my pictures to (e.g. my mom) were rather unexcited about this one.

… so what do you think?
Do you like this rather odd composition, with these weird, backlit things in the foreground??

:wink:

Hi TJ and welcome aboard. This is a very cool image. The excellent repeated shapes of the trees combined with the reflection and somewhat ominous sky really work well. Great first post. I am looking forward to seeing more of your work and reading your thoughts on the images of others.

Yes, I do like the trees, etc. in the water and their reflections. Awesome backdrop both with the mountains and the clouds. Great first post. Keep 'em coming!

TJ, welcome aboard to NPN. I am sure you’ll find some welcoming photographers here.

I really like this image. The mood and lighting are great. And I feel it’s almost from the Jurassic period. It’s a great image indeed.

Hope to see more of your work on NPN.

Cheers,
David

TJ, Welcome.

I am sensitive to graphical elements in an image. Yours has these strong lines of the two trunks in the foreground and of course the bent trees in the mid right. My inclination is to accentuate them but the large spaces on the bottom and left take away from that. There are also the two small islands in the mid-ground reflection that have lost impact due to the extra space in the image.