What's on the menu tonight? /w repost

New version:

Original Post:

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

Last night I drove through the Skagit River Delta area looking for a field of snow geese, but they were well hidden. Shortly before sunset I came across a field of marsh grass with several photographers with long lenses along the road. I stopped to take a look and saw several birds hunting for their dinner. This female Northern Harrier (?) was fun to watch as she hunted.

Specific Feedback

I’m new to avian photography and have a lot to learn. I think the background works, and she is decent focus. Is there anything in the capture process that could have made this better? Post processing of birds is very new to me so any suggestions would be helpful. I explain my processing steps below.

Technical Details

Gear and settings:
Nikon D850, ISO 1600, Sigma 150-600 at 600mm, f6.3, 1/3200 sec. handheld

Post processing:
I started with DXO PureRaw 3, then changed the profile to Tony Kuyper’s linear profile for the D850. Minor exposure processing for the entire image, a mask of the bird to add exposure and detail, and a radial mask to brighten and add saturation to the eye. Also used Topaz Sharpen AI.

1 Like

Hi Steve, there are lots to like about this image. Though somewhat small in the frame (which is fine), the subject is well placed giving us a view of the hunting territory and idea of habitat. There is plenty of space for the bird to move into. Exposure on the bird looks fine which can be a challenge on white birds in sun. Your settings look good to capture a bird in flight (plenty fast enough shutter speed). And it is good to see the shadows are not blocked as well. I do wonder how large a crop this is as the bird’s plumage looks a little soft to me in the largest version. This is still a fine keeper of an image.