What is the best long-term storage of images?

What is the best way to store image files (including RAWs and edited files for printing) for long-term storage?
People used to use gold CD/DVDs. What is the best option now?
I currently have all my files backed up to 3 hard drives. A combination of Seagate and Western Digital. I keep these drives unplugged and unhooked from my computer, except when I am downloading to them or retrieving something off them. But these have a limited life, correct?
I am not very interested in cloud storage at this time, for several reasons. I just really don’t like the idea o someone else having absolute control of, and access to, my images. I suppose I could change my mind on that if the argument was strong enough, but given my location, and general lack of good internet access, I would rather have my files here. Case in point: all of today, our satellite internet was non-functional because of heavy snow.
Thoughts?

I’m not an expert on spinning hard drives, but I do know that the “limited life” is due to the mechanical breakdown of the moving parts, so if the drives are rarely used they should be good for a long time. I would guess that the major limiting factor for “long term storage” is that today’s technology probably won’t be accessible in ten years, maybe less. I had tons of family videos on VCRs, then when VCRs went out of production I made digital copies and put them on DVDs. Now I don’t have a DVD player. And on and on. So however you store them, you will need to constantly change the format to keep up with changing technology. The format will be the limiting factor.

Genny, I assume your 3 hard drives contain 3 complete duplicates - not a single copy stored over 3 drives? I also use your multiple hard drive approach for backup storage. However, I keep one copy offsite, at my son’s house in case of fire, etc.